Mission & History

Mission Statement

We, the members of the Black Student Movement, embrace a culture distinct from the dominant culture found at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In view of this fact, it is the goal of this organization to strive for the continued existence of the unity among all its members, to voice the concerns and grievances of its members to the University, to offer outlets for expressing Black ideals and culture, and finally, to ensure that the Black Student Movement members never lose contact with the Black community.

The History of the BSM


The Black Student Movement was established on November 7th, 1967 because of the slow growth of the black population on campus and black student dissatisfaction with the NAACP chapter on-campus. Preston Dobbins served as the first president of the organization. It was from this beginning that the Black Student Movement began to take its position as being the leading voice for black students at UNC-Chapel Hill. The ensuing year became yet another momentous one for black students on the campus because it was within this period that the Dixon Resolution and the Phipps Committee were established. The Dixon Resolution, written by Professor John Dixon, requested that the Chancellor appoint a five-person committee to generate recommendations for the faculty to help improve the academic climate among black students. It was the Phillips Committee, led by Professor Dickson Phillips, which recommended an eight-step plan to improve the intellectual climate and remove educational disabilities based on the race of black students on campus and those to come. On December 11, 1968, the Black Student Movement presented a list of 23 demands to Chancellor Sitterson for improvements that they wished to see implemented. It was because of this list that many of the programs and curricula in place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill were established. On November 14, 1998 to commemorate the 30th Anniversary of the Black Student Movement, students rallied in support of the Housekeeper and Groundskeeper Struggle, and presented Chancellor Michael Hooker with a list of 23 new demands.


UNC students gather at a meeting on campus. Courtesy of Wilson Library.

UNC students gather at a meeting on campus. Courtesy of Wilson Library.

The Black Student Movement has been active in many of the historical events that have taken place at the University, most notably as a voice for the struggle of a freestanding Black Cultural Center. The Black Student Movement has also been a great contributor to the cultural climate at the University of North Carolina, making the organization familiar with several other cultural organizations. Former leaders of the Black Student Movement saw fit for there to be outlets available for black students to be creative and share the many talents they possess. From this idea, subgroups of the Black Student Movement were formed. They include UNC Gospel Choir, Opeyo! Dance Company, Ebony Readers/Onyx Theater, Black Ink Magazine, and Harmonyx A Capella Group.

As one of the largest student organizations, the Black Student Movement is proud of a large annual membership of students from several different backgrounds. The Black Student Movement holds general body meetings every Wednesday at 5:30 PM in Upendo Lounge. Upendo used to be part of Chase Dining Hall, which was the historical location of the Black Student Movement during the 1970’s and 1980’s.

Past Presidents AND MR./MS. BSM of the Black Student MovemenT

Name Years as President 
Preston E. Dobbins ’69 1967-1968
Jack L. McLean ’72 1968-1969
Cureton L. Johnson ’71 1969-1970
William A. Davis ’72 1970-1971
Jimmy L. McRae ’72 1971-1972
Warren J. Carson ’74 1972-1973
William H. Mebane ’75 1973-1974
Algenon L. Marbley ’76 1974-1975
D. Lester Diggs ’76 and Gloria C. Shealey ’76 1975-1976
Jacqueline M. Lucas ’77 and Issac B. Horton ’79 1977-1978
Allen H. Johnson III ’77 1978-1979
William J. Bynum, Jr. ’80 1979-1980
Mark H. Canady ’83 1980-1982
Wendelin Jo W. Watson ’83 1982-1983
Sherrod Banks ’85 1983-1985
Sibby Anderson-Thompkins ’87 1985-1986
Camille Z. Roddy ’87 1986-1987
Kenneth M. Perry ’89 1987-1988
Kimberly M. Gladden ’91 Fall 1989
Tonya B. Perry ’90 Spring 1990
Sabrina D. Evans-Ellis ’91 1990-1991
*Arnie Epps ’93 1991-1992
Michelle L. Thomas ’93 1992-1993
John H. Bradley IV ’95 1993-1994
Chimi L. Boyd-Keyes ’96 1994-1995
L. Ladell Robbins ’97 1995-1996
Mavis Gragg ’98 and Chandra T. Taylor ’97 1996-1997
India I. Williams ’98 1997-1998
Tamara B. Bowles ’99 1998-1999
Christopher D. Faison ’00 1999-2000
Tyra J. Moore ’01 2000-2001
Kristi J. Booker ’02 2001-2002
J. Lindsay Reed ’03 2002-2003
Erin N. Davis ’05 2003-2005
Brandon K. Hodges ’06 2005-2006
Renae M. McPherson ’08 2006-2007
Derek J. Sykes ’08 2007-2008
Shaniqua L. McClendon ’09 2008-2009
Christen B’anca Glenn ’11 2009-2010
Camile Brittany Jones ’12 2010-2011
Eric D. Campbell ’12 2011-2012
Alexis M. Davis ‘ 13 2012-2013
Darius J. Latham ‘ 14 2013-2014
Clyde “Trey” Mangum III ’15 2014-2015
Jeremy Alexander Mckellar ’16 2015-2016
Thomas Edward Shockley III ’17 2016-2017
Aaron Eric Epps ’18 2017-2018

* Deceased

 Mr. BSM  Miss BSM Year 
Laura Anderson* ’92 1991
Chris Miller '93 Tywanda Ellison* '93 1992
Maleikka Laverne Hardy Williams* ’94 1993
Renee Alexander Craft ’95 1994
Pamela Alston* ’96 1995
Theresa R. Avery* ’97 1996
Vinston Rozier* ’98 Melanie Sellars* ’98 1997
Ashley Cohen* ’99 Janora McDuffie* ’99 1998
David Cooke* ’00 Niccole Cosby* ’00 1999
Brandon Hofton ’01 Kellie Hash* ’01 2000
Thurston Cherry ’02 Sundarika Newman ’02 2001
Ranardo Pearsall ‘03 Rhonda Patterson '03 2002
D. Kelvin Bullock* ’04 Ronda Taylor ’04 2003
TJ Abrams* ’05 Conitras Houston ‘05 2004
Jarrod Jenkins ’06 Ada Wilson ’06 2005
Atrayus Goode ’07 Chloe Russell* ’07 2006
Donovan Livingston '09 Eboni Blake ’09 2008
Lorenzo Hopper ’10 Krista Stepney ’10 2009
Lukendric Washington ’11 Bianca Bell ’11 2010
Eric D. Campbell ’12 Camile B. Jones ’12 2011
K. Joshua Rowsey ’13 Antoinette “Pinky” Newsome ’13 2012
Allen “Mike” Jones* ’14 Sharessa Royster ’14 2013
Clyde “Trey” Mangum III ’15 Shy’Kiya Lee ’16 2014
Elton Rodgers ’16 Summer Holmes ’16 2015
Ryan Byrd ’17 Tamera McLeod ’17 2016
Josiah Evans ‘18 Ka’Rin Long ‘18 2017
Richard Hall '19 Shelby Miles '19 2018

* Mr. or Miss UNC Winner

An Overlooked History

African American studies was born from the struggles of black students and staff on campus in the 1960s


in March 3, 1969, members of the Black Student Movement and other UNC students entered Lenoir Dining Hall, where employees were in the midst of a month-long strike, with the intention of slowing down service. In a first attempt, they sat one to a table with just a glass of water at each. But when that didn’t garner sufficient attention from university officials, the group returned the next day with a more volatile tactic in mind.

BSM leader Preston Dobbins and several other students stood at one end of Lenoir, announcing that everyone should either “Get out or come with us.” The group then moved through the room shouting, overturning tables, throwing chairs and inciting a few scuffles that resulted in minor injuries. One student was hit in the head with a sugar shaker and required almost 15 stitches.

The Lenoir food workers’ strike was coming to a head...  

Courtesy of Wilson Library.

Courtesy of Wilson Library.