EXECUTIVE TEAM

Aaron epps

President

aeepps@live.unc.edu

ETHAN GONDER

Treasurer

ethangon@live.unc.edu

alton peques

Vice President

apeques@live.unc.edu

Dominque Brodie

Executive Assistant 

dominque@email.unc.edu


Kellan Robinson

Secretary

kellanerobinson@unc.edu

Kelley Traynham

Outreach Chair

kelleyel@live.unc.edu

Tierra Marsh

Communications Coordinator

tierram@live.unc.edu

Joia Freeman

Senior Advisor

jrocj@live.unc.edu

Qieara Lesesne

Communications Coordinator

qiearanl@live.unc.edu


CENTRAL COMMITEES

 
 

MEMBERSHIP & RETENTION 

Chair: Tesarah Boyd: tesarah@live.unc.edu

Chair: Jabria Owens: jabria@live.unc.edu

  • In charge of all BSM elections (Royal Court, Executive Positions)

  • Plans major events for BSM, including the Ball

  • Implements initiatives (like Friday on the Lawn) to encourage sustained membership and retention in BSM


Fundraising

0W4A8334 (1).jpg

Chair: Ethan Gonder: ethangon@live.unc.edu

Members: Alexis Baker, Beth Suraphel,  Calia Johnson, Diamond McKoy, Jasmine Marshall, Xavier Nonez

  • Promotes creative ways to raise funds for BSM’s events and initiative

POLITICAL ACTION 

Chair: Tyger McSwain: tyger97@live.unc.edu

  • Educates community in ways to become active in advocacy, activism, and the political process on campus and in the broader community
  • Partners with other advocacy groups (Campus Y, Black Congress, NAACP, Carolina Black Caucus) to support other advocacy initiatives throughout UNC

OUTREACH

0W4A8338 (1).jpg

Chair: Kelley Traynham: kelleyel@live.unc.edu

  • Promotes collaboration with other campus organizations to increase visibility of our organization and encourage camaraderie with other groups on campus

Black History Month

Chair: Marquise Drayton: draytonm@live.unc.edu

Chair: Jackie Omweno: jackline@live.unc.edu

  • Promotes history, culture, and heritage of blacks throughout the year, and especially heads all events in the month of February
  • Partners with Office of Diversity and Inclusion for events throughout BHM

First-Year Class Council

Chair: Chris Suggs: cjsuggs@live.unc.edu

Chair: Tamiya Troy: tamiyat@live.unc.edu

  • Creates a welcoming environment for all first years to learn about BSM and create events that first years want to see

Service and Education

Chair: Alex Robinson: alexr@live.unc.edu

Chair: Jada Staten: jstaten@live.unc.edu

  • Connects BSM’s members with opportunities to impact the campus and local communities through service

Minority Wellness and Health Disparities

Chair: Asia Gandy: asia@live.unc.edu

  • Implements informative programs and series educating the campus community about physical and mental health disparities within the black community
  • Seeks to engage students in positive health practices

Celebration of Black Womanhood

Contact: Aaron Epps: aeepps@live.unc.edu

  • Committee dedicated to building an inclusive and supportive environment for women of color at Carolina
  • Honor the true essence and diversity of all women

50TH Year Celebration

Chair: Micheline Amisi: mwa@live.unc.edu

Chair: Gwendolyn Smith: gwenren@live.unc.edu

  • Plans and organizes events specific to the celebration of BSM’s 50th anniversary and raises awareness to the campus community of BSM’s 50th year
  • This is the only year the 50th year committee will exist

 

Want to Get Involved with BSM? FILL OUT THE FORM BELOW AND WE WILL CONNECT YOU!

Name *
Name
Select a committee you are interested in getting involved with!